en
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Rasmus Remmer Nielsen  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 4:04:19 PM(UTC)
Rasmus Remmer Nielsen
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Forum
Joined: 6/14/2011(UTC)
Posts: 22

I have some calculated columns in a crosstab. Let's name them "Calc A", "Calc B".. through "Calc F".

How do I sum up on these columns using a named reference?

something akin to the named references usable with dimensions, e.g. if they had been dimensions I would have referenced them directly like this "sum(@"[Calc A]"(l1),0,m1)+sum(@"[Calc B]"(l1),0,m1).. etc.

I know it can be done by referencing them as c1, c2, c3 - but this is not the question.
Niels Thomsen  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, October 23, 2013 4:25:37 PM(UTC)
Niels Thomsen
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Forum
Joined: 4/5/2011(UTC)
Posts: 103

Hi Rasmus

Currently it's not possible to reference a calculation by name or as if it was a dimension member.

I can see the advantage if you have a lot of calculations - which are basis for other calculations etc.
Then it's easier to keep track of what you are doing, if the calculations can be referenced as e.g. Revenue - Cost instead of c1-c2.

However I can't think of a need-to-have situation for this feature - only nice-to-have :-)

If you think it is absolutely necessary for you to reference calculations by name, maybe you could elaborate a little on your scenario?

Hope it makes sense.
Hope it makes sense.

Best Regards
Niels Thomsen

https://dk.linkedin.com/in/ncthomsen


Rasmus Remmer Nielsen  
#3 Posted : Thursday, October 24, 2013 8:56:32 AM(UTC)
Rasmus Remmer Nielsen
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Forum
Joined: 6/14/2011(UTC)
Posts: 22

Hi Niels,

Thanks for the response. I was hoping that I had merely overlooked the option, but knowing it is not there will save me time looking for it :)

In any case, I have (at the moment) less than 10 calculations so it's not a big issue right now in the development stage, but the minute the analysis gets deployed to the users, they will have requests to re-order columns and create percentage calculations next to the individual columns - or removing them if I put them there in development - (thereby changing the reference calculation of subsequent calculations, making it necessary for me to re-do all the calculations multiple times).
Users browsing this topic
Anonymous
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Notification

Icon
Error