en
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Karol  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2016 11:42:42 AM(UTC)
Karol
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Forum
Joined: 5/6/2016(UTC)
Posts: 12

Hi,
I'm facing an issue related with lack of operator in criteria like "begins with".

I want to bulit a simple reports based on financial data:

UserPostedImage

Dimension: one of financial dimensions (Dimension 3)
Measures: Actual Amt in comparison:
1. Credit (based on GL Account begins with 3)
2. Debit (based on GL Account begins with 4)

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

For now I use "equal to" operator with the fixed list of accounts. The report shows correct values as far as the new account (which will begin with 3 or 4) will be created.
Is there any way to force the application to take into consideration newly created accounts as well?

Or maybe there is a workaround for my issue?
Páll Bjarkason  
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2016 8:07:39 AM(UTC)
Páll Bjarkason
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Forum
Joined: 1/13/2012(UTC)
Posts: 164

Hi Karol

It is possible to make the criteria consider newly created accounts, by choosing a range.
Eg. 20000-001 to 20000-999.
This method requires the presence of both range-endpoints.
Best regards

Páll, CTS
Karol  
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2016 1:10:28 PM(UTC)
Karol
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Forum
Joined: 5/6/2016(UTC)
Posts: 12

Thank you for the answer.

By range do you mean "between" operator?

UserPostedImage

When I used "between" operator to limit the accounts for comparison I get totally different amounts (the incorect)

UserPostedImage
Páll Bjarkason  
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2016 3:35:51 PM(UTC)
Páll Bjarkason
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Forum
Joined: 1/13/2012(UTC)
Posts: 164

Hi Karol

You could test whether the same accounts are returned when you use the "range/between" and the "equal to" operator.
Best regards

Páll, CTS
Ole  
#5 Posted : Tuesday, October 4, 2016 9:49:49 AM(UTC)
Ole
Rank: Administration

Groups: extranet\Forum
Joined: 4/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 324

Hi Karol,

Like Páll suggested, you might check if the two selection methods actually return the same accounts. Apparently they don’t as you are getting different results.

You might test it this way: Create a crosstab with the Accounts dimension on the vertical axis. Add a comparison with two elements. Element 1: Use the Equal to criteria [select all from search 3*]. Element 2: Use the Between operator [3110110 … 3999998].

From the resulting crosstab you should be able to compare the two columns and easily spot where one of the columns include an account that is missing from the other column.

BR / Ole
I work as an employee with TARGIT A/S. Any statement made by me in this forum represents my own opinion and state of mind, and is not necessarily related to or representative of TARGIT A/S.

UserPostedImage Ole Dyring
Karol  
#6 Posted : Friday, October 7, 2016 7:39:54 AM(UTC)
Karol
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Forum
Joined: 5/6/2016(UTC)
Posts: 12

Hi,
I have prepared a comparison which you suggested:

UserPostedImage

This shows me that the difference is on each account.
I have checked the results with our ERP (AX) and the correct values is achieved with 'Equal to' operator.

But this does not solved my problem. When the new account (e.g. starting with '3') will be added it will not be included in the analysis.
Users browsing this topic
Anonymous
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Notification

Icon
Error