en
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Tim R. Hansen  
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 7:51:51 AM(UTC)
Tim R. Hansen
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/25/2016(UTC)
Posts: 16

Hi.

After i have change to an updated data source, i'm having som issue's with the dynamic periods
When i select "Year - Month - Day", my only options in the dynamic periods is "This year" and "Last year".

How can this be?

Any help is much appreciated!
Ole  
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 9:41:46 AM(UTC)
Ole
Rank: Administration

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 371

Hi Tim,

In most cases this is due to an issue with dynamic periods syntax for your month level expecting the month level of your hierarchy to be in a specific format.

Did you set up the dynamic periods syntax yourself? And did you do it in the SSAS project or as a Decoration in the TARGIT Management client?

Since it did work earlier on, and now it doesn't after a data source update, my best guess is that your month level data somehow changed. My guesses include, all of which would make it fail:

- The month level now shows names instead of numbers.
- The month level now shows 2 digit numbers (eg. 06) instead of 1 or 2 digit numbers (eg. 6).
- The key of your month level changed from a simple key (month numbers only) to a combined key (year + month number).
- Other changes to the month level may also make it fail.

The best solution would be to fix the dynamic periods syntax on your SSAS project or in TARGIT Decorations, depending on where it is done by now, to match the new definition of your month level attribute.

If you need further assistance, I will need to see screenshots of your current Dynamic Periods syntax and of a fully expanded Year-Month-day hierarchy in a TARGIT crosstab.

BR / Ole
I work as an employee with TARGIT A/S. Any statement made by me in this forum represents my own opinion and state of mind, and is not necessarily related to or representative of TARGIT A/S.

UserPostedImage Ole Dyring
Tim R. Hansen  
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 10:16:33 AM(UTC)
Tim R. Hansen
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/25/2016(UTC)
Posts: 16

Hi Ole.

Thanks alot for your answer.

The data comes from a SSAS projekt. I don't know if you know them, but our cubes is from EG.
And in the old version of the EG cubes everything worked fine. I must say tho, that i wasn't involed when these cubes were made. So i'm not sure if there has been made changes in those dimensions.

Here is some screenshots of the things you requested:
UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

Edited by user Thursday, June 15, 2017 10:19:43 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Ole  
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 10:34:22 AM(UTC)
Ole
Rank: Administration

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 371

Great. Another screenshot requested, though:

Click the "Year-Month-Day" hierarchy and have a look at properties, especially the 'Description' property. This is probably where you have your Dynamic Periods syntax, something like "#|TimeDef: ...". I would be interested in seeing that, thank you.
I work as an employee with TARGIT A/S. Any statement made by me in this forum represents my own opinion and state of mind, and is not necessarily related to or representative of TARGIT A/S.

UserPostedImage Ole Dyring
Tim R. Hansen  
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 10:39:31 AM(UTC)
Tim R. Hansen
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/25/2016(UTC)
Posts: 16

Here you go:

UserPostedImage
Ole  
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 10:47:54 AM(UTC)
Ole
Rank: Administration

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 371

Ok. Thanks. For sure, it is because your new data source now works with combined keys – which the old one did not.

One more screenshot, please: Show me the combined key settings for your MonthKey attribute. Look into the KeyColumn property of your MonthKey attribute. Click the small button with three dots to open up the combined key settings – this is the screenshot I need.
I work as an employee with TARGIT A/S. Any statement made by me in this forum represents my own opinion and state of mind, and is not necessarily related to or representative of TARGIT A/S.

UserPostedImage Ole Dyring
Tim R. Hansen  
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 10:54:30 AM(UTC)
Tim R. Hansen
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/25/2016(UTC)
Posts: 16

i'm not sure about this.

Is this what you need:
UserPostedImage
Ole  
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 12:11:38 PM(UTC)
Ole
Rank: Administration

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 371

Not quite. If you just click the KeyColumns property, you should see the three-dotted button on the right hand side in the second column. This should bring up a 'Key Columns' dialog box. This is the one I need.
I work as an employee with TARGIT A/S. Any statement made by me in this forum represents my own opinion and state of mind, and is not necessarily related to or representative of TARGIT A/S.

UserPostedImage Ole Dyring
Tim R. Hansen  
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 12:23:05 PM(UTC)
Tim R. Hansen
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/25/2016(UTC)
Posts: 16

like this:
UserPostedImage
Ole  
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 12:34:30 PM(UTC)
Ole
Rank: Administration

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 371

Exactly! Except that it didn't really give me that extra information I was hoping for. So, from now on I am going to do some (qualified) guessing.

I am guessing that your 'YearMonthKey' contains data like '201706' for June 2017. You may verify this by browsing your Calendar table. Likewise, I am guessing that your Day level has a 'YearMonthDayKey' key - containing something like '20170615' for 15th June 2017.

In that case, your Dynamic Periods syntax should be something like

#|TimeDef:[<>].&[<YYYY]&[MM>].&[<YYYY]&[MM]&[DD]>]|#

Give it a shot, and let me know. If it dosn't work I will need to know the contents (data) of 'YearMonthKey' and 'YearMonthDayKey'.

PS: Your Data Warehouse will need to be re-processed in order for the changes to take effect.

Edited by user Thursday, June 15, 2017 12:35:59 PM(UTC)  | Reason: PS added.

I work as an employee with TARGIT A/S. Any statement made by me in this forum represents my own opinion and state of mind, and is not necessarily related to or representative of TARGIT A/S.

UserPostedImage Ole Dyring
Tim R. Hansen  
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 15, 2017 12:41:16 PM(UTC)
Tim R. Hansen
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/25/2016(UTC)
Posts: 16

Thanks alot for all your help!

When i browse my calender table you seem to be perfectly right :)

I'll try to fix this later tonight or tomorrow. You will hear from me, when i get it working.
Tim R. Hansen  
#12 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 8:03:16 AM(UTC)
Tim R. Hansen
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/25/2016(UTC)
Posts: 16

Hi again Ole

I tried your solution yesterday night, without any big succes.

But this morning i was wondering about the following:

When i look into my "Year - Month - Day" hierachy it shows the following:
UserPostedImage

And QuarterKey is made from the following expression:
Cast(CAST(Year AS VARCHAR(4) ) + CAST(QuarterNumber AS VARCHAR(1) ) as int)

UserPostedImage
UserPostedImage

So shouldn't my hierachy description be something like:
#|TimeDef:[<>].&[<YYYY]&[Q>].&[<YYYY]&[MM]&[DD]>]|#

instead of:
#|TimeDef:[<>].&[<YYYY]&[MM>].&[<YYYY]&[MM]&[DD]>]|#
Ole  
#13 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 9:04:42 AM(UTC)
Ole
Rank: Administration

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 371

No. Don't think so. You could try, but I would be surprised if it will work.

Please send me screenshot of your Calendar table where I can see the content (data) of 'YearMonthKey' and 'YearMonthDayKey'.
I work as an employee with TARGIT A/S. Any statement made by me in this forum represents my own opinion and state of mind, and is not necessarily related to or representative of TARGIT A/S.

UserPostedImage Ole Dyring
Tim R. Hansen  
#14 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 9:09:22 AM(UTC)
Tim R. Hansen
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/25/2016(UTC)
Posts: 16

These are the two existing key colums in my calendar table:
UserPostedImage
Tim R. Hansen  
#15 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 9:24:13 AM(UTC)
Tim R. Hansen
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/25/2016(UTC)
Posts: 16

Could i be, that my "Day" dimensionAttribute should be change from "Date" to "DateKey" in KeyColumns:
UserPostedImage
UserPostedImage

That way it matches:
#|TimeDef:[<>].&[<YYYY]&[MM>].&[<YYYY]&[MM]&[DD]>]|#

Or what?
Ole  
#16 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 10:31:58 AM(UTC)
Ole
Rank: Administration

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/7/2011(UTC)
Posts: 371

My bad earlier on. It really isn't a combined key - it is in fact just a simple key (which has been pre-combined into eg. Year and Month).

So the syntax should probably be

#|TimeDef:[<>].&[<YYYYMM>].&[<YYYY-MM-DD]>]|#

If the Day level doesn't work with this, you might try to change the KeyColumn property to 'DateKey'. In that case the syntax should be

#|TimeDef:[<>].&[<YYYYMM>].&[<YYYYMMDD]>]|#
I work as an employee with TARGIT A/S. Any statement made by me in this forum represents my own opinion and state of mind, and is not necessarily related to or representative of TARGIT A/S.

UserPostedImage Ole Dyring
Tim R. Hansen  
#17 Posted : Friday, June 16, 2017 12:24:53 PM(UTC)
Tim R. Hansen
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/25/2016(UTC)
Posts: 16

Once again thanks alot. I'll try to work something out this weekend
Tim R. Hansen  
#18 Posted : Tuesday, June 20, 2017 8:04:10 AM(UTC)
Tim R. Hansen
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: extranet\Webinar
Joined: 4/25/2016(UTC)
Posts: 16

Hello Ole.

Just an update for you.
I got my dynamic periods working with the following solution:

"Year - Month" Description:
#|TimeDef:[<>].&[<YYYYMM>]|#

"Year - Month - Day" Description:
#|TimeDef:[<>].&[<YYYYMM>].[<>]|#

"Year - Quarter - Month - Day" Description:
#|TimeDef:[<>].[Q<>].&[<YYYYMM>].[<>]|#

Thanks again for all your help!
Users browsing this topic
Anonymous
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Notification

Icon
Error